Put the Hedgehog out of his misery.

Posted: June 24, 2011 by Tony Polanco in PIECE OF MIND

After playing a demo for Sonic generations I had a thought that I believed I would never have.

“Sega needs to stop making Sonic the Hedgehog games”.

Yeah I know, a lot of people have not only thought this but have openly said it for years now. I realize that I am not alone in this. What is different is that I have been holding out hope that Sega would finally get their act together and release a proper Sonic title. After being disappointed for the umpteenth time I’ve had enough. Give Sonic the Hedgehog a merciful death and stop ruining the legacy of this one great franchise.

Keep on reading to find out how I got here.

Sonic: Generations is Sega’s latest attempt at resurrecting the failing but once mighty Sonic franchise by bringing it back to its 2d roots. It’s also the 2nd failure in my opinion. The first attempt. Sonic 4 looked fantastic and most (myself included) believed it to be the one true return of the beloved rodent to gaming greatness. The problem was that the game controlled very sluggish and stiff. Two things that a game primarily based on how fast you can run shouldn’t have. Sonic 4 was supposed to be released as episodes yet to this day we have not seen any follow up episodes which leads us to Sonic generations.

Since this is the 20th anniversary of Sonic (damn I feel old) Sega have decided to make a game that has both the classic Sonic and the new green eyed modern Sonic in it. This is fine but…what about Sonic 4? No further episodes have been announced yet here we have a brand new 2d Sonic game coming. Did Sonic 4 fail so badly that it was aborted just to make room for this new generations game? Perhaps this is why Sonic games haven’t been as great as they could be for the last 15 years. Sega doesn’t seem to have a direction that they want to take the franchise in. It’s always something new and weird with these games. From Werewolves to Beastiality, the Sonic series has no clear direction. Kind of like this article, but I digress. Where was I? Oh yes, Sonic Generations.

Sonic generations was yet another attempt to make everyone love Sonic again by letting you play him as you did 20 years ago. The problem (like with Sonic 4) is again the controls. While I will admit that Sonic generation’s controls are a little better than those of Sonic 4 they are still no where near as good as the original games. Sonic again feels stiff and slow. I had problems going through the loop-de-loops which is something that has never ever happened to me in the decades that I’ve been playing these games. Sega, why are you trying to tweak Sonic’s controls? They were perfect! Any alterations just makes the games play incorrectly.

This is a sad and angering article to write. I’ve been with Sonic from the very beginning. The games took up a lot of my time as a boy and my childhood was definitely made richer because of the great Sonic games that I played. So it’s with a heavy heart that I have to ask Sega to please, if you are not going to make a Sonic the Hedgehog game that captures the spirit of the originals, to just end the series right now. Try again in a few years if you want but only if you have a clear idea of what you want the games to be. If you need inspiration then go back and play all of the Genesis era games to remind yourselves of what made Sonic and his games so great.

Leave a Reply

