God of war: Origins collection HD Review

Posted: December 7, 2011 by saiyajinzoningen in REVIEWS

I like God of war. I always have, I always will. So when offered the chance to review these once Playstation portable games on a console how could I refuse? Now, if you’re reading this review lets get something straight; you probably have already played at least ONE God of war game in your lifetime. So that being said, there is very little new offered in these games. However, this is not a bad thing. The tried and true God of war formula succeeds yet again.

God of war: Chains of Olympus and God of war: Ghost of Sparta (full review here) look like Playstation 2 games when that system was in its prime. I was not overly impressed by the graphics but I did not shudder at over-granulated pixelation. In fact there was only time I was able to tell I was playing a PSP port. Otherwise the game was a flawless port graphically.

God of war has its own iconic music that is included. Its not over the top, too fast, too slow, or too quiet either. It’s ambient and fits the game and setting of the game perfectly. Linda Hunt’s narration as always is top notch and gives the plot true emotion.

God of war always has had an excellent combination of action, platforming and puzzles, mixed up just enough to stave off boredom. As usual this game delivers in spades. If I had to nitpick, I’d say its simply too easy. The combat, the platforming and the puzzles are simplistic however they are not tedious.

Plot is where God of war always shines. At least it does for me. I’ve always been a sucker for mythology and the way Kratos is inserted into ancient stories without destroying their integrity has always been a big draw. As usual God of war delivers in this.

Believe it or not. I actually prefer the controls to this compilation over the regular God of war games. Kratos now actually double jumps. Instead of that weird jump duck thing he does in his regular games. Since this is a smaller game there are less powers but they are nonetheless effective. My only gripe is that the game is so easy that it renders the additional powers wholly superfluous.

God of war: Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta were originally PSP games. I own a PSP, in fact, I have for years. I have the original model in mint condition sitting on my desk with about 4 inches of dust on it. So please bear in mind that I’m not anti-handheld systems, it’s simply that I do not have the time to play them. As a kid I would play my greyish/green graphics fat Gameboy on the bus, in the auditorium at lunch, in the car. I would basically play whenever there was nothing to do but sit and wait. As an adult, I drive myself. I don’t take busses and I can order my food from the supermarket over the phone. So I simply don’t have the spare time for a handheld. When I do have spare time I’m usually at home and I’d rather play a game on a big screen than a small one. I’m fully aware this final paragraph has nothing to do with God of war but in reality only one thing is left to be said about this compilation.

If you are a God of war  fan and you don’t own this game, Stop reading and go get it right now. Satisfaction is guaranteed.

Liked

  • That I can play these on my console and not a PSP
  • How Kratos is mixed into mythology
  • Variety of gameplay

Disliked

  • The game was kind of easy

God of war: Origins collection HD was developed by Ready at dawn studios and published by Sony Computer entertainment. It was released exclusively on the Playstation 3 on blu-ray and digital download and is available for $39.99 or $19.99 for each title respectively. A retail blu-ray copy was played for this review.

Leave a Reply

